Blue Monday!

I’m not sure if it’s being 25 or just a state of mind but I battle a lot with” life purpose” from time to time, especially at this point in my life. When I started my blog, I was at a point of no return, frustrated with my negativity, my self-doubt, my self-pity and mostly complaining over and over again about the lack of passion for my job. You see I’m a breed lying somewhere between a Pisces and an Aquarius so my thoughts are always in the clouds, I’m a dreamer, a believer, a passion driven being..I really do believe that I can change the world; it’s not far from my goals in life. Unfortunately or fortunately for me (perhaps I don’t know it yet), I’m not one of those people who knew exactly what they needed to do and how to go about it whilst still living on this God-given earth and so I tend to envy those people but most of all I’m inspired by those people.

It can be the smallest of things, like a friend refusing to conform to societal pressures of “going to a traditional university and getting a degree in Account (I can hear my mom’s voice) but rather choosing his passion for photography and making ends meet against all odds. Or a friend quitting a job that does not fulfill her soul regardless of the state of poverty that awaits her and pursuing what she believes in, to eventually get a break. Or a friend failing so many times to have people laugh and scorn at him for believing he can ever be a pilot but beating all odds and getting his license and flying as a young black man. These are the everyday people who follow their dreams and look ahead no matter what the circumstances right now, the people who look past the current obstacles because they see the end of the tunnel very clearly.  The people who wake up daily and look forward to the start of the day. This is all I ever wanted, this is my goal right now, and this is my dream! It may sound simple but think about what that entails. It means I have to find what fulfills me, follow it, work hard at it and continuously improve on it.

Finally I’m on that journey of discovery but it’s days like today that set me back a footstep because that element of self-doubt starts creeping in but I know for as long as I’m typing away on this blog and beating myself up because I want to feel a sense of purpose and will do anything to find that purpose….everyday is a step closer to my dreams!

Life’s a journey, embrace it! Big up to the passion driven people’s out there!

P.S. I know it’s not style related but it’s my blog and I’ll cry if I want to 🙂

10 Responses

  1. I hear what you’re saying. I think lots of people struggle with these kind of issues. I say you’re one step closer because you’ve started this lovely blog!

    Good luck on your quest.

    I don’t know if you read Paulo Coehlo, but reading his books and blog from time to time reminds me that I need to always be doing what I love. http://paulocoelhoblog.com/

    It isn’t easy! Day to day life and routine can suck you in and make you forget too quickly.

  2. ” Day to day life and routine can suck you in and make you forget too quickly” , that’s exactly what’s happening Anthea, tx for your constant support, I’ll be sure to check out the blog!

  3. It’s my absolute pleasure!

  4. *Somewhere something incredible is waiting to be known – Carl Sagan*…thats one of my most favourite quotes..I read it daily..dont doubt your own ideas..ever!

  5. You are a fabulously stylish and clever chicken- so much coolness awaits you!!!!!!!!! Start sending your CV out there- speak to people who have awesome jobs- find out a bit more about things you are intersted in and I promise you something will come along- it’s about deciding to put yourself on a new path- the rest they say is history.
    xx Chin up.

  6. I really applaud you for being so upfront about your insecurities and your dreams …. Underneath all the facade I like to believe that everyone is just human, so thanks for your honesty

  7. Beautiful and spot on piece babe. I am turning 25 this year and this is EXACTLY how I feel, almost all the time. I’m undecided about whether to move to Europe and travel or stay here and succumb to what’s already offered to me…and I’m not that type of person so yeah…

    I spoke to me mom about it and she said onething to me: ‘Growing up is not for kids’, and it made sense. Sometimes we need to just pause (not stop) and rethink things through, ask ourselves if where we are is where we want to be or if its in the same direction as where we want to be. Argh, it can really get emotional too sometimes but its all about self timing and pacing ourselves with others. We also seem to put too much pressure on ourselves becaue we’re too ambitious.

    The worst thing that could happen is for us to forget our dreams babe.

    Stay cool & success hungry 😉

  8. Oh guys thanks for your comments, really put a huge grin on my face!I just need to move that damn foot forward and stop feeling to stuck!!!@Tumelo, it’s really not for kids or for the faint hearted but we are young we have time but we DO put so much pressure on ourselves!!

  9. Palesa…One thing I’ve learned is that every experience is meant to teach one something, it opens the mind to a unique way of thinking…even if it may not be what I’m passionate about right now…but I know that I’m getting valuable skills that will be helpful in the future…yes… my B.A. and IT skills might give me an edge in fashion and design…and make me a good wife and mother…lol
    So be good Palesa…you’re on the right track…keep learning and just do one thing (you love) at a time…and its ok to blue once in a while…Blue is also a colour 🙂

  10. I came across your blog via http://www.beneaththebleach.blogspot.com. Yes this is your Blog and you can cry if you want! Yes, this is YOURS be proud, be patient and NEVER GIVE UP!
    Go check out beneaththebleach.blogspot.com I am sure you can compare notes with one another.

Leave a Reply

